ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

The overall chair for this project on Good Practice Guidance and Uncertainty Management in National Greenhouse Gas Inventories was Jim Penman (UK). Dina Kruger (USA) and Ian Galbally (AUS) were co-chairs of the development of the sectoral 'Good Practice Guidance' and 'Uncertainty Management' respectively.

The co-chairs of the source/subject level expert groups provided their time and expertise along with other experts, from a wide range of disciplines, who also gave of their time to write, comment and review the text and attend meetings. Expert meetings were held in Australia (Finalisation), Brazil (Waste), Czech Republic (Energy), France (Scoping), Netherlands (Agriculture), United Kingdom (Uncertainty) and the USA (Industrial Processes). Financial and in kind contributions were received from governments.

Technical and organisational support for the project was provided by the IPCC/OECD/IEA Secretariat in Paris that oversaw the initiation of the project and sectoral good practice development. Thomas Martinsen was the Programme Manager. Katarina Mareckova, Robert Hoppaus and Pierre Boileau were the Programme Officers with Amy Emmert as Secretary.

The Technical Support Unit (TSU) of the IPCC National Greenhouse Gas Inventories Programme that took over from the Secretariat in Paris is located in the Institute for Global Environmental Strategies and funded by the Government of Japan. Sal Emmanuel is the Head of the Unit. The four Programme Officers are Leandro Buendia, Robert Hoppaus, Jeroen Meijer and Kiyoto Tanabe. Kyoko Miwa is the Administrative Officer and Makiko Ishikawa looked after Secretarial activities. Kyoko Takada is the current Secretary. Bill Irving (USEPA) worked extensively on the text.

Taka Hiraishi (Japan) and Buruhani Nyenzi (Tanzania), the two co-chairs of the Task Force Bureau for the IPCC National Greenhouse Gas Inventories Programme and their colleagues, the Task Force Bureau members provided guidance, encouragement and input to the process.

Bob Watson, Chairman of the IPCC and Narasimhan Sundararaman, IPCC Secretary both provided support, advice and encouragement. Assistance for the project was also provided by the IPCC Secretariat, Rudie Bourgeois, Annie Courcin and Chantal Ettori.

IPCC

Robert Watson, Chair Narasimhan Sundararaman, Secretary

IPCC NGGIP Task Force Bureau

Taka Hiraishi, co-chair Buruhani Nyenzi, co-chair Ian Carruthers Marc Gillet Dina Kruger Carlos Lopez Leo Meyer Domingos Miguez Wang Minxing Igor Nazarov Richard Odingo Rajendra Pachauri Jim Penman Audun Rosland John Stone

IPCC NGGIP Japan Technical Support Unit

Sal Emmanuel Leandro Buendia Robert Hoppaus Jeroen Meijer Kyoko Miwa Kiyoto Tanabe Kyoko Takada